Monday, January 21, 2008

Two dozen legislators dropping out so far

If you're keeping score, the list of Pennsylvania Legislators who are not seeking re-election in 2008 has grown to 24 (15 Republicans and 9 Democrats).

State Rep.Tom Petrone, D-Allegheny, and state Sen. Terry Punt, R-Adams, are the latest incumbents to announce they're not running for new terms.

Conventional wisdom has been that Republicans stood a good chance to regain control of the state House because of corruption scandals connected with Democratic House leadership, but the GOP has to defend more seats, so it's still a horse race.

Here is the most current list of Pennsylvania legislators who are not seeking re-election after 2008:

Democrats: Gerald J. LaValle, Beaver County; Connie Williams, Montgomery.

Republicans: Gib Armstrong, Lancaster; Roger A. Madigan, Bradford; Terry Punt, Adams

House of Representatives

Democrats: Lisa Bennington, Allegheny; Daylin Leach, Montgomery; Thomas C. Petrone, Allegheny; Sean Ramaley, Beaver; Thomas A. Tangretti, Westmoreland; Edward P. Wojnaroski, Cambria; Thomas F. Yewcic, Cambria.

Republicans: Bob Bastian, Somerset; Steven W. Cappelli, Lycoming: Arthur D. Hershey, Chester; George Kenney, Philadelphia; Fred McIlhattan, Clarion; Jerry L. Nailor, Cumberland; Carl Mantz, Berks/Lehigh; Steven R. Nickol, York: Ron Raymond, Delaware; Carole A. Rubley, Chester; Jess M. Stairs, Fayette/Westmoreland; David J. Steil, Bucks.
(Note: Leach, Ramaley and Cappelli are giving up their House seats to run for open Senate seats)

Tuesday, Jan. 22, is the first day incumbents and challengers can begin circulating nominating petitions to place their names on the April 22 primary election.

Candidates have three weeks to gather signatures — at least 500 are required for the Senate seats and 300 for the House seats — to qualify for the April 22 primary ballot.

During the last election cycle in 2006, the year after the Legislature voted itself, the governor and the state's judges a pay raise in the middle-of-the-night, 31 incumbents chose not to seek re-election. Another 24 were defeated at the polls, ushering in 55 new members of the Legislature.

No comments: