Thursday, November 29, 2007

SE Pennsylvania legislators turn their backs on tax relief

Only 43 members of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives have publicly supported House Bill 1275, the School Property Tax Elimination Act of 2007, by signing aboard as co-sponsors.

The vast majority of the 203 House members have yet to be heard on HB 1275, which was introduce by state Rep. Sam Rohrer and is supported by more than two dozen citizen taxpayer groups across Pennsylvania. The bill would eliminate school property taxes for all Pennsylvania homeowners.

Below is a list of legislators who represent districts in Southeastern Pennsylvania (all or parts of Berks, Bucks, Chester, Delaware and Montgomery counties) conspicuously absent from the list of HB 1275 co-sponsors. (I won't bother with state reps from the City of Philadelphia since they don't consider themselves part of Pennsylvania except when they're looking for handouts and bailouts from the rest of the state's taxpayers.)

If you recognize any of the names below, you need to contact them today and ask them what's more pressing in Harrisburg than the elimination of school property taxes?

Find out why your representative won't stand with Pennsylvania taxpayers.

And remind them that you will not be voting for them when they stand for re-election in 2008.

The following state representatives are AWOL on property tax relief:

David Kessler (D-130)
Doug Reichley (R-134)
Tim Seip (D-125)

Paul I. Clymer (R-145)
Gene DiGirolamo (R-18)
John T. Galloway (D-140)
Chris King (D-142)
Anthony J. Melio (D-141)
Bernie O'Neill (R-29)
Scott A. Petri (R-178)
Marguerite Quinn (R-143)
Katharine M. Watson (R-144)

Thomas Killion (R-168)
Duane Milne (R-167)
Chris Ross (R-158)
Carole Rubley (R-157

William F. Adolph Jr. (R-165)
Mario J. Civera Jr. (R-26)
Robert C. Donatucci (D-185)
Thomas H. Killion (R-168)
Thaddeus Kirkland (D-9)
Bryan R. Lentz (D-161)
Nicholas A. Micozzie (R-163)
Ron Raymond (R-162)
Greg Vitali (D-166)
Ronald G. Waters (D-191)

Lawrence Curry (D-154)
Michael Gerber (D-148)
Robert Godshall (R-53)
Kate Harper (R-61)
George Kenney Jr. (R-170)
Daylin Leach (D-149)
Kathy Manderino (D-194)
Jay Moyer (R-70)
Thomas Murt (R-152)
Josh Shapiro (D-153)
Rick Taylor (D-151)
Mike Vereb (R-150)

No comments: