Monday, November 12, 2007

Freshman lawmakers abandon taxpayers

On Friday, I listed 40 members of the Pennsylvania House who are co-sponsors of the School Property Tax Elimination Act of 2007.

While the list of 40 co-sponsors features several members of House Republican leadership -- Argall (R-Berks/Schuylkill), Phillips (R-Northumberland/Snyder) and Stern (R-Blair) -- conspicuously absent are many of the members of the freshman class of 2006 who were elected on promises to reform Harrisburg and/or do something about property taxes.

Only 11 of the 50 new House members elected in 2006 are co-sponsors of House Bill 1275. They are: Cox (R-Berks); Everett (R-Lycoming); Gibbons (D-Beaver/Butler/Lawrence); Mahoney (D-Fayette); Mantz (R-Berks); Mensch (R-Montgomery); Moul (R-Adams/Franklin); Perry (R-Cumberland/York); Roae (R-Crawford); Rock (R-Franklin) and Swanger (R-Lebanon).

Where are the rest? Why isn't your legislator on the list? Why have they broken their promises to constituents? If you state legislator is not on the list of co-sponsors, find out why they oppose the elimination of school property taxes and remind them that you will vote them out in 2008 if they don't stand with taxpayers.

No comments: