Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Committee Chairpersons Announced For 2013-14 Pennsylvania Senate Session

Sen. Joe Scarnati (R-25), president pro tempore of the Pennsylvania Senate, has announced committee chairmanship assignments for the Senate's 22 Senate Standing Committees.

"We are fortunate to have members from various backgrounds and regions across our Commonwealth who bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to Harrisburg," Scarnati said. "Membership of committees will be announced prior to the reconvening of the Senate on January 22, 2013."

Republicans still control the Senate, but they will have a smaller margin for the 2013-14 session. The GOP lost 3 Senate seats in the November election, making the party breakdown for the next two-year session, 27-23, in favor of Republicans. 

Senate Standing Committee Chair Assignments:

  • Aging & Youth – Senator Bob Mensch (R-24)
  • Agriculture & Rural AffairsSenator Elder A. Vogel, Jr. (R-47)
  • Appropriations – Senator Jake Corman (R-34)
  • Banking & Insurance – Senator Don White (R-41)
  • Communications & Technology – Senator Randy Vulakovich (R-40)
  • Community, Economic & Recreational DevelopmentSenator Kim L. Ward (R-39)
  • Consumer Protection & Professional LicensureSenator Robert M. Tomlinson (R-6)
  • Education – Senator Mike Folmer (R-48)
  • Environmental Resources & EnergySenator Gene Yaw (R-23)
  • Finance – Senator Mike Brubaker (R-36)
  • Game & FisheriesSenator Richard Alloway (R-33)
  • Inter-governmental Operations – Senator-elect Scott E. Hutchinson (R-21)
  • Judiciary Senator Stewart J. Greenleaf (R-12)
  • Labor & IndustrySenator John R. Gordner (R-27)
  • Law & JusticeSenator Charles T. McIlhinney, Jr. (R-10)
  • Local GovernmentSenator John H. Eichelberger, Jr. (R-30)
  • Public Health & WelfareSenator Patricia H. Vance (R-31)
  • Rules & Executive Nominations – Senator Dominic Pileggi (R-9)
  • State Government Senator Lloyd K. Smucker (R-13)
  • Transportation Senator John C. Rafferty, Jr. (R-44)
  • Urban Affairs & Housing Senator David G. Argall (R-29)
  • Veterans Affairs & Emergency Preparedness Senator Lisa Baker (R-20)

No comments: