Wednesday, January 18, 2006

The Dropouts

As of Jan. 18, 2006, a total of 17 members of the Pennsylvania Legislature have announced they will retire rather than face the voters in 2006. The list includes 15 members of the House and 2 members of the Senate. All have two things in common: Each voted yes to the infamous July 7, 2005 pay raise and each took the money early as unvouchered expenses before the pay raise was repealed. You be the judge if they need to "spend more time with my family" or are too chicken to face the voters back home.

The Dropouts:

· Rep. Kevin Blaum, D-Luzerne, minority caucus secretary.

· Rep. Raymond Bunt Jr., R-Montgomery, majority caucus secretary.

· Rep. Thomas C. Corrigan Sr., D-Bucks, House member since 1987.

· Rep. Jacqueline Crahalla, R-Montgomery, leaving after two terms.

· Rep. John W. Fichter, R-Montgomery, represented the Norristown area since 1993

· Rep. Robert J. Flick, R-Chester, chairman, Consumer Affairs Committee.

· Rep. George C. Hasay, R-Luzerne, chairman, Commerce Committee.

· Rep. Lynn B. Herman, R-Centre, chairman, Local Government Committee, has represented the State College area in the House since 1983.

· Rep. Victor J. Lescovitz, D-Washington, minority chairman, Local Government Committee.

· Rep. Sheila Miller, R-Berks, chairwoman, Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee.

· Rep. Lawrence Roberts, D-Fayette, served in the House since 1993.

· Rep. T.J. Rooney, D-Northampton, chairman of state Democratic Party.

· Rep. Bruce Smith, R-York, chairman, Game and Fisheries Committee.

· Rep. Thomas M. Tigue, D-Luzerne, chairman, House Veterans Affairs and Emergency Preparedness Committee.

· Rep. Elinor Z. Taylor, R-Chester, majority caucus chairwoman.

· Sen. Charles Lemmond, R-Luzerne, chairman, State Government Committee.

· Sen. Noah W. Wenger, R-Lancaster, vice chairman, Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee.

No comments: